Off Road Championship 2018

You can run as many of the races as you like but remember it’s your best results from 6 races that count and add up your final total.

Every qualifier will receive an award.

Key : Completed |Next Race | Upcoming

Lytham Parkrun 5K Saturday 6th January Lytham
Muddy Shoes 5M Saturday 10th February Caldervale
Standish Hall Trail race 10K Saturday 24th February Wigan
Roddlesworth Roller 9K  Sunday 11th March Abbey Village
Cartmel 10K 10K Saturday 17th March Cartmel
Rivington 10M 10M Sunday 8th April Rivington
Brun Valley 10K 10K Sunday 29th April Burnley
Race to Remember 8K Sunday 13th May Scorton
Astley Park Trail Race 4.6M Wednesday 6th June Chorley – (BookitZone.com)
Trawden 7 7M Sunday 1st July Colne
Blackburn parkrun 5K Saturday 11th August Witton Park
Harrock Hill 5.3M Wednesday 22nd August Parbold
Ribblesway 10K 10K Sunday 9th September Preston
Yarrow River 10K 10K Sunday 16th September (10am) Chorley – (MadBullEvents.com)
Lancaster parkrun 5K Saturday 6th October Lancaster – Williamson Park
Trick or Treat 4M Saturday 27th October Bolton – (Time2RunEvents.co.uk)
Arnside Knott 10K November To Be Confirmed
Torch Challenge (Night Run) 5M Saturday 15th December (18:00) Rivington – (MadBullEvents.com)

Off Road Championship

The club chooses around 16 ‘off road’ races spread throughout the year including fell races and trail races. To complete the Off Road Championship you need to run in at least 6 of these races to qualify. You choose which races you run. Any Parkrun races, you must be registered with ParkRun and have Thornton Cleveleys Running Club set as your Home Club, don’t forget your barcode, no code, no time and so will not count in the Off Road Championship.

Scoring

Everyone who completes their 6 races in the Off Road championship will receive an award. There are prizes for the overall winners of the Off Road Championship for both men and women but we also have awards for winners by ‘Vet’ age category.

The scoring is done separately for men and women in each race. In each race the first TCRC man to finish scores 1 point, the second scores 2 points, the third scores 3 points and so on until the last who, if there were 7 TCRC men in the race, would score 7 points. The same applies to women with the first TCRC lady scoring 1 point and the second scoring 2 points etc.  At the end of the year you add together your 6 lowest scores and whoever has the lowest total in each is the winner.

As well as having an overall winner of the Off Road Championship we also have awards for men and women in each age category (Vet40, Vet45, Vet50 etc) so even if you’re not the fastest Road or Off Road runner in the club you may still win your age category. So if you are the first Vet40 TCRC man to finish you will score 1 point in the Vet40 Road or Off Road Championship and 2 points for second Vet40 etc.

What do we do if 2 people have exactly the same score for an award at the end of the year? We compare their ‘head to head’ results and look at who finished in front of the other one the most times and if that’s still a draw the it’s who had the most first places.